- (TCO 3) Managers are often required to make decisions about the future based on all the following except:
- (TCO 3) The process of creating a formal plan and translating goals into a quantitative format is called:
- (TCO 3) The Coyote Cafe had sales revenues and food costs in 2007 of $800,000 and $600,000, respectively. In 2008, Coyote will be introducing a new menu item that will generate $100,000 in sales revenues and $45,000 in food costs. Assuming no changes are expected for the other food items, the differential revenue for 2008 is:
- (TCO 1) The terms direct cost and indirect cost are commonly used in accounting. A particular cost might be considered a direct cost of a manufacturing department, but an indirect cost of the product produced in the manufacturing department. Classifying a cost as either direct or indirect depends upon:
- (TCO 1) Which of the following is NOT a product cost under full absorption costing?
(TCO 1) Calculate the prime costs from the following information:
Fixed manufacturing overhead
Variable manufacturing overhead
- (TCO 1) The excess of sales over variable costs is termed:
- (TCO 6) Western Sales has the following information concerning its one and only product:
- (TCO 6) When the sales volume equals total costs and there is zero profit or loss, this is termed:
(TCO 6) Western Sales has the following information concerning its one and only product:
Selling price per unit: $40
Variable cost per unit: $15
Total fixed costs: $250,000
Compute the break-even point in units.
(TCO 5) The time from research and development until the support to the customer ends is termed:
(TCO 5) Costs that differ between two or more alternatives are termed:
(TCO 5) Which of the following costs are irrelevant for a special order that will allow an organization to utilize some of its present idle capacity?
(TCO 3) The cost estimation method that is based on two cost observations is called the:
(TCO 3) We use cost estimation to determine:
(TCO 3) The systematic relationship between the amount of experience in performing a task and the time required to perform it is known as the:
(TCO 2) Which of the following statements does not reflect one of the fundamental themes underlying the design of cost systems for managerial purposes?
(TCO 2) In a labor intensive company in which more overhead is used by the more highly skilled and paid employees, which activity base would be most appropriate for applying overhead to production?
(TCO 2) What is the amount transferred in for Case C?
- (TCO 2) The UVW Manufacturing Company produces a single uniform product throughout the year. Which of the following product costing systems should be used by UVW?
- (TCO 6) T-Tunes, Inc. is considering the introduction of a new music player with the following price and cost characteristics:
Sales price per unit: $125
Variable cost per unit: $80
Annual fixed costs: $180,000
(a) How many units must T-Tunes sell to break even?
(b) How many units must T-Tunes sell to make an operating profit of $120,000 for the year?
(c) What will the operating profit be, assuming that the projected sales for the year are 7,500 units?
Consider requirements (b) and (c) independent of each other.
(TCO 4) Kramer Company has decided to use a predetermined rate to assign factory overhead to production. The following predictions have been made for 2010:
Total factory overhead costs
Direct labor hours
Direct labor costs
Compute the predetermined factory overhead rate under three different bases: (1) direct labor hours, (2) direct labor costs, and (3) machine hours.
(TCO 1) Best Corporation incurred the following costs:
Beginning direct materials inventory
Beginning work-in-process inventory
Beginning finished goods inventory
Ending direct materials inventory
Ending finished goods
Factory supervisor's salary
Depreciation on plant
Selling and administrative expenses
Direct material purchases
Calculate the following values:
direct materials used
cost of goods manufactured
cost of goods sold
(TCO 5) The following information relates to a product produced by Bayfield Company:
Fixed selling costs are $1,000,000 per year. Although production capacity is 900,000 units per year, Bayfield expects to produce only 800,000 units next year. The product normally sells for $180 each. A customer has offered to buy 60,000 units for $150 each. Compute the effect on the net income if Bayfield accepts the special order.